Diagnosis: stupid! [Grey’s Anatomy]

Grey's Anatomy

Here’s an excerpt of my review of the very first episode of Grey’s Anatomy, which I wrote back in ’05:

Grey’s Anatomy suffers from being neither original nor interesting. The drama is riddled with cliches… There is little that viewers haven’t seen before, which hardly adds to its appeal… Grey’s Anatomy is another one of those dramas where the titular character is the most annoying part of the whole show.

At the time I predicted it would quickly sink, so of course I was roundly mocked when the series went on to become one of the biggest hits of the year.

Anyway, it turns out I was right about the show the whole time: it’s now being savaged by critics because of a stupid storyline wherein Katherine Heigl’s ghastly character Izzie is sleeping with her ex-lover Donny, who you may remember as the dude who died at the end of season one. She is sleeping with a dead man.

Disclaimer: I don’t watch Grey’s, but I can nevertheless assure you that is stoopid. Per this hilariously snarky clip from The Soup, a recent scene from the hospital soap actually included the lines: “I’m a dead man who loves you” and “You don’t get to apologise for dying”. Ugh!

Michael Ausiello sez that the whole sorry affair is, of course, Heigl’s fault. Remember when she bitched that the writers hadn’t give her any good material? The “ghost-fucker” storyline is their elaborate revenge. Those evil bastards!

2 Responses to “Diagnosis: stupid! [Grey’s Anatomy]”

  1. doublebitch Says:

    that clip was priceless, so was your headline. So win. I feel bad for Jeffrey Dean Morgan though, even if it is a payback for Izzie. He’s a better actor than this and I think he trusted teh people at Grey’s to not do.. well this. I wonder if anyone’s heard how he feels about it all.

Leave a comment