“Shut up, Gil – close the deal, close the deal!” [The Simpsons]

Cracked rates the five most underrated characters in The Simpsons… and for some reason includes Gil, the hapless salesman and perennial loser. I always thought everyone hated Gil? I mean, he has his moments – but he’s kinda just one of those late-entry characters you overlook for a reason.

7 Responses to ““Shut up, Gil – close the deal, close the deal!” [The Simpsons]”

  1. Soylent Green Says:

    Really? I love Gil. But then, maybe it’s because I love Jack Lemmon in Glengarry Glen Ross

  2. What are you talking about? Gil is terrific!

    “Those Coleco’s will rust up on you like that!”

  3. I’m with you on this one. Every time I see Gill in an episode I cringe. It’s just so forced… and he was never funny to begin with.

  4. Admittedly, the “rust up on you like that” IS funny. And he was funny in the Glengarry episode where he first appeared. His subsequent appearances, however, have been awful. Remember that ep where he moved in with the Simpsons? Ugh.

  5. Attempts to make him a regular extra in the series have been, I agree, quite obviously a reflection of how crappy the series has become. And how about the contrived banter between Chief Wiggum, Lou and Ed? Oy.

  6. I like Gil because I regularly meet people in real life who are disturbingly like him, and I think, “Hah, that guy is Gil.”

    My most under-rated 5 would be:
    1. Kearney
    2. Cookie Kwan
    3. Fat Tony
    4. Pimple-faced teen
    5. Drederick Tatum

  7. Crazy cat lady for sure

Leave a Reply

