JJ promises to cut back on confusing, elaborate BS [Fringe]

PhotobucketJJ Abrams has promised that his forthcoming TV series Fringe won’t be as impenetrable as, oh, say, Alias. (I loved Alias, for the first two seasons at least, but by the end it was indeed hopelessly confusing. Long-long zombie sisters? Evil moms? Immortal Sloane trapped under a rock forever? Wha?)

The new drama will mostly follow a mystery-of-the-week format in the style of The X-Files… hey, do you think the two shows might be alike in some way? I bet this comparison hasn’t occured to anyone else!

[Link]

2 Responses to “JJ promises to cut back on confusing, elaborate BS [Fringe]”

  1. Flotsam Snr Says:

    ‘Word’ (as you yourself might say) on the Alias evil mom. After about the 17th week in which she’d alternated from being evil to being good to being evil again I gave up caring. Poor Lena Olin must have been given a different character motivation by the director every few minutes!

    I feel the same thing is happening a bit with Dr Juliet Burke but I’m only up to the end of season 3, so maybe I need to reserve judgment for now.

  2. pondie84 Says:

    But remember when they tried the self contained episodes of Alias in the first half of season 4 (I think)? Some of the worst hours of TV I’ve seen in a long time… I still can’t get the memory of Sydney being chased by a toy-sized machine gun helicopter out of my head.

Leave a Reply

