Gee, I wonder what this show will be nicknamed [Canal Road]

Why would you give your show a title that lends itself so obviously to a disparaging nickname? Anyway, the first two eps of Canal Road are now available for download at the show’s official website, so check ’em out if you can’t wait for the official premiere on April 16.

I previewed the first two on the weekend and I gotta say: not too shabby. The look of the show is super-slick, the cast is mostly pretty hot (especially Paul Leyden as Spencer – rrrowrr), and I admire Nine’s attempt to create a drama with a serial storyline, a la US series like Desperate Housewives.

Having said that, though, I’m not sure Canal Road‘s serial storyline will work so well in practice. Basically, Spencer is a top psychiatrist whose wife and kid were killed in a car accident a couple of years ago… or were they? In the first ep the junkie who was convicted for the crime is released from jail, and he tells Spence there’s more to the accident than meets the eye. And… that’s kinda it. There’s no hints than Spencer’s past is less-than-savoury, no shocking clues to draw audiences into the next episode, no intrigue. The ongoing plot thread feels so thin it’s hardly there.

Canal‘s not as compelling as Underbelly (which I have missed for like the last 10 weeks, d’oh), but it’s definitely more ambitious than Sea Patrol. Interesting to see how this one pans out.

[Link]

One Response to “Gee, I wonder what this show will be nicknamed [Canal Road]”

  1. I got started on this show after I saw this clip http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QKmtSXB0L1I

    I think its pretty cool .. and hope they going to bring out some more episodes. I think the story line has some potential .. lets hope they get it right.

Leave a Reply

